Bowls Q&A

Question:

A player protests to the umpire about the opponents bowls.  When approached by the umpire the player with the challenged bowls says the bowls are needed for a club game later that day and will give them to the umpire the next day.

Is this permitted?

Answer:

No.  If the user or owner of the challenged bowls refuses to surrender them to the umpire the game shall thereupon be forfeited to the opponent.  Until the bowls are received by the umpire the user or owner, or both, shall be disqualified from playing in any game.  Laws 52.5.4; 52.5.5.

 

Question:

Can a challenge to a bowl be withdrawn?

Answer:

No.  Once a challenge has been lodged and the deposit paid, it cannot be withdrawn.  Law 52.4.5.

Leave Comment