The first end in a singles game is tied. Player A claims that they are going to play the first end again and that they should toss for who shall play first. Player B disagrees and calls you as umpire. Who is correct?
Player B is correct. The end is tied and recorded on the scorecard as a completed end. Laws 24.2 & 24.4
If an umpire is called to measure a shot, and cannot make a decision in favour of one or other of the bowls belonging to members of different teams in question, what is the position?
If the nearest bowls of each team are deemed to be equidistant from the jack there will be no shot scored. The end must be declared ‘tied’ and counted as a played end. The first to play in the tied end shall again play first in the next end as per Law 5.4. Laws 24.1.2; 24.2 & 24.3